As I was reading Hosea I was reminded of this song by a local worship leader, Duff Rowden. This is from a cassette from 1992 and is called, appropriately, “I Will Call Them My People”.

Hosea 2:16, 19, 23

In that day, says the Lord, you will say to me, “My husband,” and you will not say to me, “My master”. “I will betroth you forever, I will betroth you through righteousness and justice, with great love and compassion.

I will plant her (Lo-Ruhama) in the land; I will give her my compassion. I will say to her (Lo-Ami) “You are my people”. And she will say “My God!”

I will call them “My People” who are not my people

I will call the outcast my bride

And in the very same place they were unwanted orphans

They’ll be called the sons of the Most High


The Lord… Abba Father, He

The Lord… now His children, we

The Lord… Jesus Christ is He

The  Lord… His blood shed for me

In His great mercy He called us to be

children of the Most High!

In His great mercy He called us to be

children of the Most High!


So go tell all people who are not my people

Go and tell all the outcasts of night

I’ll forgive all their sins and heal all their sorrows

They’ll be called the sons of the Most High!

