After school yesterday I hiked up and down, all over Redmond Town Center to fill out the same form over and over again. Also known as looking for a job – for three hours! And I thought I was tired before – by the time I got back to Mathnasium I was exhausted. Not to mention very discouraged. It feels like a batter on who you are when you get rejections (however nice or logical) concerning a job. Like when I interviewed for the library job, I felt like it was a blow to who I was because who you are (and what you’ve done) determines getting the job. Yes, there was 4o+ other people that applied, so yes a 17-year old doesn’t stand a chance! But it still feels like… an attack on you. So I guess I can sympathize w/ all those men during the Depression who felt bad because they couldn’t support their family. Except I have no one dependent on me. Gosh, poor guys!

And it’s difficult spiritual-wise too. Psalms 37:4, “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” A lot of times I feel like I try to get right heart-wise with this whole job business just to feel God say, “good job, Sarah, looks like you got everything aligned down there, so here’s a great job in Duvall that pays $20 an hour!” But, needless to say, that’s not the way it works. Delight yourself in the Lord. Let Him become everything, then He’ll change the desires of your heart to His. So hard to do…

But I’ll wrap up with these awesome words of wisdom from the Father –

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

