This is home, now I’m finally where I belong.
This is home, I’ve been searching for a place of my own
Now I found it

Maybe this is home.

And now, after all my searching
After all my questions
I’m going to call it home.
I got a brand new mind set
I can finally see the sunset,
I’m gonna call it home.

Home.

Ofttimes life seems so crazy! Events slowly fill my family’s calendar until there’s scarcely a day to just stop and take a breath!

Today as we were driving to yet another event, my mind was dwelling on the building we had just left – that wonderful house that has become a home full of memories. Whenever I feel overwhelmed or stressed out, I feel like something that has been twisted and twisted, and I just want to come home and unwind in solitude.

I guess my official title would be “introvert”. =) I long for home! Events and parties and friends are all well and good – but there’s times when my mind refuses to think of anything but home and the return journey, being able to spend time there. My family and I experienced the ultimate of this longing for home, during our 11 months away as we traveled the U.S. An amazing experience, but we got pretty homesick!

So today I sat in the car, looking up at the sky. The beautiful sky. ‘What if the sky was my home?’ I thought. Then I would always be happy, because I would always be home. When I felt lonely I could simply crane my head back and smile. Yep, it’s still there.

Verses came back to me, from Hebrews chapter 11.

…All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance. And they admitted that they were aliens and strangers on earth.

People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return.

Instead, they were longing for a better country—a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.

My family longed for our home, because we knew the one we were dwelling in was temporary. We wanted to cast it aside and return to our yellow house on the forested hill, with a bedroom for everyone and three bathrooms. Three! But we would have been depriving ourselves if we were unable to enjoy the present because we were pining away for the to-be future. As Christians we also waste our lives if we simply pine away for the day our flesh will be permanently thrown off.

After all, this is the only earthly life I get! May I spend it for the glory of my King. May I not be ashamed to stand before God in heaven, because He will know my name…


