Went to a Christmas performance last night and one of the songs was called “The Giver and the Gift” by Point of Grace. I thought it was such a cool message, as the last line to the chorus said “I am both the Giver and the Gift” (God speaking). God loves to lavish gifts on us, even more so than earthly parents love to give gifts to their children!

When looking up “giving” in my bible, one thing I was struck by from the passage in Matthew 7 (:9-11) was how we have to ask God for His gifts to receive them. The son asks for bread, asks for a fish.

“…how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!”

And before that section, in verses 7 on,

Ask and it will be given to you, seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”

I’ll always remember a short story I read online – sadly I haven’t been able to find it since, but it’s always stuck with me. A woman is in heaven, watching a man pour these huge jars of blessings on people below. One person receives jars upon jars, while another person gets only a drop. Confused, the woman asks why some people didn’t get as much. “Because they didn’t ask for as many blessings,” the man answers, and points to the back of the room, where jars upon jars are waiting, full of glistening, golden blessings that have not been given as they had not been asked for.

What has God promised to give us?

  • A new heart (Ezekiel 36:26)
  • Good gifts (Matthew 7:11)
  • The keys of the kingdom of heaven (Matthew 16:19)
  • The Holy Spirit (Luke 11:13)
  • Eternal life (John 10:28)
  • Peace. His peace. (John 14:27)
  • His Son (Romans 8:32)
  • The earth (Psalms 115:16)
  • The things we need (Matthew 6:33)
  • Glorious grace (Ephesians 1:6)
  • Strength to the weary (Isaiah 40:29
  • The victory through Christ (1 Corinthians 15:57)
  • Satisfaction in our work (Ecclesiastes 3:13)
  • Songs in the night (Job 35:10)

And so much more!! Are any of these not good gifts? Hallelujah that our God is a great Giver! Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!

But sorry, I got sidetracked from the point I was going to make. God is a great Giver. From 2 Timothy 2:13 – “If we are faithless, he will remain faithful, for he cannot disown himself.” To be a Savior is God’s unchangeable nature. He epitomizes good, and through His very being teaches us what true giving is. God will never stop giving – and even better than a great parent, He knows the gift we need the most. Himself.

We cannot live without Him. Without Him our lives are broken, meaningless, empty, depressing cycles… shall I go on? We have all felt the darkness away from God – but in His presence is purest light and joy.

Back to asking for gifts. (I know, I should really edit this post when I’m done, as I’m simply rambling around on rabbit trails you will be forced to traverse ;), but did I mention I’m a terrible editor?) In a beautiful song by Kathryn Scott, it starts out “The more I seek you… the more I find you… the more I find you… the more I love you.” These words are pure truth. And the more we find and love God, the more we are happy and content, because we return home. The more we love God, the more we seek Him. But the cycle must begin with seeking. Now I could pull out my bible concordance again and shoot off a whole bunch of verses on “seeking”, but I’ll let you do that. Journey through God’s alive Word, there’s a lot of treasures to be found, that are new and can never grow old.

One thing I heard from a speaker, that will always stay with me, is always be honest with God. No masks. If you don’t desire God – maybe right now you’re in a dry spot and other appealing things in life are drawing your attention, or maybe you don’t understand Who God is and exactly why He’s so great – tell Him that. Do you want a desire for Him, that will start a cycle of seeking and fulfillment that will fill your life to heaping? “God, I don’t want you. But I want to want you.” This is a prayer that is often true for me, and that I pray if I am honest enough with myself to strip away all the false shows of devotion, when my mind is really somewhere else.

God is the Giver. And He is the Gift. He gives of Himself freely, only ask.

Bring us love, You who are love

Bring us peace, You who are peace

We need love, O divine love

We need Your peace, Your merciful peace

David Crowder Band

“Your sins are forgiven,” Jesus told us, because He was the one we offend with our sins. He was the One we needed to forgive us, and before we even realized we needed His forgiveness, He had given it. Now, even before we have realized He’s the remedy to our brokenness – as C.S. Lewis put it, if we were cars, we have filled ourselves with everything but gasoline – God. We will not run smoothly ’til He is what fills us.

One pastor called God a “gentleman”. He will not intrude – He has given us free will, and desires for us to turn and at least begin seeking Him. Ask Him for strength – as Him for a desire for Him. Ask Him to fill you today. He has promised to do so.

