I took poetry last quarter, and read a great variety. Some poems were interesting, some were boring, some I will avoid for the rest of my life, and some – I care not what the teacher said – made no sense. When things do not make sense I do not want to try to extract a hidden meaning or write an in-class essay about it, thank you very much.

But some poems I really liked. These are two of my favorites – Christian poems. The first one my teacher really did not understand, which makes sense as he was not a believer and the concept of asking God to “take you captive” would make no sense if you did not follow Christ.

Without further ado, here they are –

John Donne, Holy Sonnet #14

Batter my heart, three-person’d God ; for you
As yet but knock ; breathe, shine, and seek to mend ;
That I may rise, and stand, o’erthrow me, and bend
Your force, to break, blow, burn, and make me new.
I, like an usurp’d town, to another due,
Labour to admit you, but O, to no end.
Reason, your viceroy in me, me should defend,
But is captived, and proves weak or untrue.
Yet dearly I love you, and would be loved fain,
But am betroth’d unto your enemy ;
Divorce me, untie, or break that knot again,
Take me to you, imprison me, for I,
Except you enthrall me, never shall be free,
Nor ever chaste, except you ravish me.

Gerard Manley Hopkins, God’s Grandeur

The world is charged with the grandeur of God.
It will flame out, like shining from shook foil;
It gathers to a greatness, like the ooze of oil
Crushed. Why do men then now not reck his rod?
Generations have trod, have trod, have trod;
And all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil;
And wears man’s smudge and shares man’s smell: the soil
Is bare now, nor can foot feel, being shod.

And for all this, nature is never spent;
There lives the dearest freshness deep down things;
And though the last lights off the black West went
Oh, morning, at the brown brink eastward, springs—
Because the Holy Ghost over the bent
World broods with warm breast and with ah! bright wings.

