I signed up for BookSneeze about a year ago (a program where you receive books for free – the only criteria being that you post an honest review on your blog & a consumer website.) After ordering my first book and reading more than halfway through it, life got in the way and a couple days ago I remembered “Oh… that book I got! Yeah should probably go finish reading it…”

“You must not have found the book very exciting”, you now say. Well… there was nothing wrong with the book per say, I simply didn’t realize what the book was, and more specifically what its intended audience was before I selected it. After I received the book, I realized the subtitle was “The way of all great men”, and the author also wrote the book “Why Men Hate Going to Church.” Whoops. Newsflash: I’m not a man.

Instead of passing this book off to my dad or brothers, though, as I guess some smarter people would have done, I plowed through it on my own. And here’s my review:

The first half of the book was fairly interesting. For some reason Murrow decided to write a fictionary, “Da Vinci Code” like tale of finding a map that would change the world. As he reveals in the second half of the book, the story was not true (no, really? He didn’t go visit some monks in Greece and face danger for a lost map?), and the map was simply a pattern he had noticed while speed-reading the book of Matthew. He offers the speculation that all men must travel three journeys: The Journey of Submission, the Journey of Strength, and the Journey of Sacrifice – in that order. Traveling these journeys requires vacillating between “Feminine” and “Masculine”, then back to “Feminine”. Murrow draws these journeys out in a simplistic “map”, because he says men tend to learn visually. For a condensed view of this map, go here.

Again, I am not a man, so this message definitely did not strike me in the way it might strike its intended audience. Murrow said some pretty bold things, mostly about the Journey of Strength, that I hesitated to agree with. On page 147, he says:

“I’m going to tell you something you’ll never hear in church: You can fly into a rage and still be a faithful Christian. You can hurt people’s feelings. You do not have to be nice all the time. You can say no to people. You can shut some people out. Jesus did all these things. And we are first and foremost imitators of Christ.

Just remember the cardinal rules of the journey of strength: do not forsake the lessons of submission. As long as you do everything out of love, and not out of bitterness, you can be demanding and even unpleasant once in a while – especially when dealing with other men.”

For me I just know this sounds dangerous. My old nature can so easily twist things so that even if I am convinced in my own mind I am hurting someone out of love, it’s really because of a selfish, self-serving cause. To deal with someone out of love, in a manner that may not seem so loving, requires a lot of prayer and should not be done in the moment.

Just as a side note, a sentence he said on page 129 made me laugh, when he wrote about himself – “I have not always been this humble”. 🙂 Sorry, that just made me smile.
Overall, I thought this book had a couple good points about how our Christian life should display Submission, Strength, and Sacrifice. I wasn’t impressed enough to recommend this book to others, though, or to read it again. And again, please remember I’m a woman so this book probably struck me completely different than it might a man.

For more information about this book, its author, and its message, visit www.threejourneys.com. The author is currently working on a discipleship program for men based off of this “map” called Men’s League. I believe he is planning to build programs for women, children, etc. as well, based off of these three journeys.

For more information about the BookSneeze program visit www.booksneeze.com

