Today I seized the opportunity first to sleep in, then to work on school and other things I need to catch up on. It’s now 6 at night, and I’ve finished several assignments for Nutrition, written a book review, scoured (1/2) of our exceedingly dirty stovetop, as well as edited a bit of my Nano. It’s drizzling outside (typical Washington weather! 🙂 ), and at that point when the house grows dusky and dark, so you have to flick on the yellow electric lights that signify it’s time to eat dinner, and play family games, and prepare for the ending of the day.

Right now Pandora’s playing, and I’m reminded of how beautiful hymns are. And wanted to compile a list of my favorites and learn what your favorites are. First, here’s mine, at least those that come to mind right now….

  • All Creatures of our God and King (ye lights of evening, find a voice!)
  • This is My Father’s World (why should my heart be sad?)
  • Jesus Paid It All (love this one)
  • It is Well With My Soul (my sin, not in part, but the whole… yeah I could just quote that whole song 🙂 )
  • I Have Decided To Follow Jesus (a song to be sung heartily)
  • The Love of God (such beautiful lyrics!)
  • Nothing But the Blood (for my cleansing this my plea…)
  • Joyful, Joyful We Adore Thee (sometimes a song becomes cliche because we never go beyond the first verse…)
  • Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing (prone to wander, Lord, I feel it…)
  • Blessed Redeemer (written long before Casting Crowns made it popular)
  • Take My Life

I’ll stop here before I just end up listing a whole hymn book. 🙂 A lot of these I’ve heard at youth events, in worship… I’m sure there are many more, lesser known hymns that are beautiful, but I’ve never heard them… what’re your favorites? Favorite hymns, favorite lines from hymns?

