Everyone here agrees that today was the best weather since the beginning of May. It was gorgeously clear and sunny… annnd it was my day off! ๐Ÿ™‚

I ended up spending a lot of the day waiting, which is fine with me, as what I really wanted to do all day was spend time with God, and I can do that if I’m hiking or sitting waiting for the shuttle, I just wanted time alone ย with God.

The past few days of work had kind of drained me… we took inventory on the last day of the month, and I made some (innocent) mistakes, and… yeah, we’ll just leave it at that they were draining. So I was entirely ready to enjoy my days off. ๐Ÿ™‚

After breakfast and brushing my teeth and all that awesome stuff that’s good for you, I headed to the employee cafeteria to find I had missed the 10:15 shuttle and the next one left at noon. So I wandered around Paradise and actually took some pictures of it *gaspeth!*. Here they are:

After that wonderful time of taking pictures, lying on my back feeling the glorious sun, praying, reading my Bible, eating lunch, the shuttle finally left at noon.

I got dropped off (by request, not because I was such a troublemaker ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) at Cougar Rock Campground. There’s a trail that runs from there down to Longmire. It also goes up to Paradise, passing by several waterfalls on the way, but I’ll wait to hike that ’til the snow has melted a bit more.

I hiked slow – oh it was such a beautiful day. I love how I had the trail to myself, too, except for the very few hikers/joggers that passed. The trail did follow the road, but I either wasn’t paying attention, or not that many cars passed by, because I didn’t hear them very often. The river was on my left, though, and I could hear that all the time. Also heard a woodpecker but couldn’t find it in the trees…

Here’s some more pictures:

All in all, great hike, great time by myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

P.S. How’s this gallery thing working?

