Following is a blog post containing random spurts of thoughts from Sarah’s mind, intended to be an update on all going-ons at Mount Rainier for the last several days, and full of trivial details which the reader is not obligated to find important…

Hello all. ๐Ÿ™‚

The weather seems to be following a general pattern of several days of pea-soup fog, followed by several days of pure blue skies that outline the mountains beautifully.

Mount Rainier

The webcam for today - oh just look at that beautiful mountain! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I feel sorry for the visitors that come during the former type of days – one woman joked to me that she had determined Mount Rainier was a hoax and we made it all up. It is amazing how the mountain can completely disappear – even when the Tatoosh Range in the south is visible. If I could make the weather clear for every visitor, ย I would!

I think my favorite “mood” for the mountain is not when it’s invisible (obviously) or even when it’s silhouetted against a periwinkle sky (oooh look I must be feeling poetic, just used periwinkle in lieu of blue. XD), but when there are several clouds around it… in that instance I feel like there should be dramatic orchestra music playing… and a helicopter taking a sweeping air shot… ๐Ÿ™‚ Ha ha, just kidding. But really that’s the time when I think the mountain is at its most glorious. Next time I will attempt to capture in a picture, to show you what I mean.

My week of work ended up being extended, and I worked Sunday, which is normally my day off. Both Saturday and Sunday were gorgeous, which meant excellent news for visitors and the cafe business, but 7+ hours of non-stop rushing around and endless dishes for us employees. I cashiered all of Saturday and some of Sunday and have developed a good steady rhythm – although sometimes I feel like a robot saying the same script to every customer.

“Is that everything? Total is $12.88. Thank you. Please sign. Do you want your receipt? Thank you.”

At first it was strange being switched to cashier instead of being behind the line, but now I rather like it. (I’ve grown attached to my register, ha ha). And it’s always a good feeling at the end of the day, especially a busy day, when the cash balances or comes pennies close.

Here’s my list of what I love/dislike in the customers (I’ll come back and add more as I think of them…):

Love:

  • All of the different accents, of course! ๐Ÿ™‚
  • The foreigners that don’t know the currency, and hold out a handful of coins, or even a wad of bills, and I just take out what I need. (The other day I got to use the few words of spanish I knew, telling some Mexicans that the quarter was worth “veinte-cinco” cents, “de nada” to their gracias. The boy asked “Where is the… and made a sucking sound,” and I pointed to the straws. “How did you say that?” he asked and I repeated the word straw. ๐Ÿ™‚ Just very fun to teach English to those that want to learn.)
  • When they just use my name (from my nametag) as though they know me and are good friends with me.
  • When they tell me to keep the change. ๐Ÿ˜‰
Dislike:
  • When I ask “Is that everything?” and they reply “Yes… and four sodas and a hot chocolate.” ย ….
  • When I put up the chairs to close off a section… and they pass right by the tables that are still open and take down the chairs to sit in the “closed” section… so I can’t sweep and mop until they leave… grrr
  • How they don’t understand when pizza is two for one. “Ohh, two slices for one dollar?” Yeah, you wish. XD

The good part about working on Sunday when I normally wouldn’t, is that my next work week is shorter. I have Monday and Tuesday off, and leave around noon on Saturday to go home for several days. My birthday is in a week and I’m using it as an excuse to take a slightly longer weekend – I’ll get to spend 2 days at home. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so excited!!

My time off today was so exceedingly boring, you would fall asleep on your computer just reading about it. The fog was too thick to go hiking. Tomorrow I’m hoping it will be clearer, as it will be the first day my roommate and I have the same day off. ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re planning on hiking to the top of Pinnacle Peak.

I have now run out of witty and amusing things to say – oh wait, I never did have any :0)… so I’ll sign off.

That’s all, folks!

Sarah

