Sarah’s Life Update:

So last week it felt like my brain was pedaling at about three times faster than normal, processing things and trying to decide where I wanted to go for the summer. After submitting a ton of applications to every national park in existence through CoolWorks, I heard back from Glacier National Park. I had a job there, if I wanted it. But what about Bryce Canyon in Utah? Or Acadia National Park in Maine?

At this point my brain became a huge web of complex pros and cons as I considered every option I had. I had to call Glacier back on Monday, so I felt pressed to make a decision. On Friday I detailed my entire thought process out loud to my co-worker, who kindly listened and offered suggestions, but in the end didn’t really contribute to my internal dilemma. From waking to sleeping, questions of what I wanted to do whirled through my head. On Saturday I had a bit of vertigo – I figure my head was spinning so much on the inside I was starting to feel literally dizzy.

And then on Sunday, all of the spinning thoughts slid away.

I wish I could say I had an amazing spiritual moment and thus point at God who took away my fret, but I didn’t. I am very grateful, though, because it is difficult to enjoy the present when all thoughts are in the future, and not even dwelling in a pleasant dream, but fretting.

Today I arranged one interview for later this week, and told Glacier I can’t give them a decision right now.

I am blessed with many, many options before me of what I could do with this summer, and with my life.

Many options can also make the decision much, much harder.

But whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

-Isaiah 30:21

