So last night I saw this picture on Facebook and shared it:

It got a few angry comments from some of my friends. The next day a friend sent me a FB message that opened my eyes and revealed that my action was shameful, since its motivation had not been love. A lot of times I do things without thinking, and this was one of those times.

By posting this video, I was encouraging division. I was drawing a line and placing labels on others, putting them below and me above. “Better than thou” attitude. All attitudes that God condones and hates! God does not seek to change people through pointing fingers and judgement, but through His love.

I want to apologize now to those I wounded. I let my pride and self rule me, instead of stopping to think.

It’s beyond cliche, I know, to bring up ‘what would Jesus do’, but He wouldn’t have posted or encouraged this picture on FB, because that’s not His character. And so it shouldn’t be mine.

1 Corinthians 13 –  “Love does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking.”

My motivation for everything I do should be love. God is patient and kind to me, and then I turn around and act selfishly and without consideration. I am here to reflect God’s character, and this action did the very opposite.

I was terribly wrong, and I apologize to those who were offended by my post. Please forgive me – I did not think and I did not do the right thing.

There’s not really anything more I can say… Please forgive me.

http://www.godvine.com/Start-the-Love-a-Girl-s-Awesome-Appeal-to-All-Christians-1152.html

