In a clash of light and darkness, can courage prevail?

Rescuing a toddler from the jaws of a mountain lion, Trevor MacDaniel, a high-country outfi tter, sets in motion events he can’t foresee. His act of bravery entwines his life with gifted sculptor Natalie Reeve—and attracts a grim admirer.

Trevor’s need to guard and protect is born of tragedy, prompting his decision to become a search and rescue volunteer. Natalie’s gift of sculpting comes from an unusual disability that seeks release through her creative hands. In each other they see strength and courage as they face an incomprehensible foe.

When a troubled soul views Trevor as archangel and adversary, Redford’s peaceful mountain community is threatened. Together with Police Chief Jonah Westfall, Trevor presses his limits to combat the menace who targets the most helpless and innocent.

 

I must say, I was predisposed not to like this book. The synopsis did not interest me, and I really only picked this book because the other choices were marriage advice and Amish romances. I began Indelible and then set it down for a while. When I picked it up again, it was difficult to remember who all the characters were, so as I continued to plunge into the book I had already begun to write an unfavorable review in my mind – “…too many names…confusing to follow…”

I began to change my opinion as I continued, though, and in the end enjoyed this book, though I would not rate it 5 stars. 3.5, maybe, or 4.

The characters were what made this book work. Trevor, Fleur, Natalie, all were well fleshed out and unique. Natalie’s “unusual disability” that affected her sculpting was also captivating. There were a lot of names and characters to remember – but that is partially explained in that Indelible was a sequel. A stand-alone sequel to Indivisible, set in the same town and sharing some of the same characters.

I think this book would have been much better were it not for the bad guy, the “troubled soul” that “views Trevor as archangel and adversary”. Sprinkled evenly throughout the book were chapters that quoted Milton’s Paradise Lost and then described the antagonist’s activity in vaguely poetic prose. If this was supposed to instill suspense throughout the story, it did not work for me. Rather I found the villain’s chapters confusing, and the parallels between Paradise Lost and the story in Indelible few and feeble. I felt that everything concerning the villain – his background, the motivations behind his actions, his comparisons between himself and Satan, Trevor and an archangel – were weak and in the end weakened the plot tremendously.

The developing romance between Trevor and Natalie and the interactions between the townspeople were well-written. It’s a pity the author tried for the currently-popular suspense spin and did not have a better antagonist – consequentially, I feel Indelible feel short of its potential.

 

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers, in exchange for my honest review.

