I arrived at Signal Mountain Lodge in the Grand Teton National Park Thursday, got the grand tour, sat for a 7 hour long orientation Friday – and today (Saturday) was my first day of work! ๐Ÿ™‚

It felt like a day off since I didn’t work until 5. I woke up late and spent pretty much the whole day hanging out with Anna, my roommate. (Two more roommates are on their way but will not be arriving until a week or two from now)

After dining on Rice Krispies and Raisin Bran, we sat on a picnic table by the docks and read Peter Pan aloud. It’s one of Anna’s favorite books and I found it quite enjoyable. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love how J.M. Barrie wrote.

After a while we returned to the EDR (Employee Dining Room, for ya non-seasonal-work-savvies) and ate lunch. It was starting to feel like we were just spending the whole day eating. Fortunately here we got productive and, after dressing in warm clothes, became the first people to rent a kayak. Well not rent, it’s free for employees, but the docks had just opened that day and we were the first to take a boat out! What an honor.

We had to keep the docks since the clouds looked a tad ominous, and with the lake still being 55 degrees hypothermia was a concern if one of us fell in. Overall the wind hardly blew as we puttered about on the water, and we spend a good amount of time just floating and enjoying the scenery, chatting and getting to know each other. It was relaxing, great fun, and good exercise. Can’t beat that!! ๐Ÿ™‚

That was followed by some Snickers ice cream bars and more Peter Pan.

Then I started work!

Having never been a busser before – and starting on a Saturday evening! – there was a lot to learn and little time to learn it. Overall it was pretty straightforward, though – clear and wipe and set tables, fill water glasses, and try to avoid dropping any trays or slipping by the dishpit.

My face felt warm and flushed as I worked, which I attributed to the stress of learning everything and the fast pace. Then I caught a glimpse of myself in a mirror and found my face was a nice shade of pink! Turns out I got quite the sunburn while drifting on the lake. ๐Ÿ˜› Next time I will have to be sure to at least wear a hat.

That’s all that’s happened so far in my exciting life. I have been learning the names of everyone and Bob’s uncle! The EDR food is a pleasant change from Rainier, as here the food isย delicious! I can actually recognize what I’m eating, and it tastes good!

So far everyone seems really nice, and Signal Mountain has been living up to its high reputation. 60% of the employees this season are returnees! Wow. That really tells you something about the company, especially since this is seasonal work.

I will be posting pictures from our visit to Yellowstone sometime soonl. For now, adios mi amigos, and be sure to slather on sunscreen to avoid looking like a pepto-bismol bottle. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Sarah

