Very quiet weekend. I guess since I did Holly Lake on Tuesday, I didn’t feel the urge to do any hikes during my days off. Last night I went out with friends to Mexican food – it must have been authentic, because we were the only non-hispanics the entire time. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love the soda they sell, in the glass bottles, made with real sugar!

And I was ready for some cuisine that was NOT Thai. So far I have eaten at 3 different Thai restaurants in the area, a total of 5 times. Everyone just happens to suggest Thai, so that’s where we head! As delicious as phad thai is, I was ready to try other things. ๐Ÿ™‚

Today my roommate Alissa and I went into Jackson, where we perused the booths at the farmer’s market in the few minutes before they closed. Managed to get a 2-for-1 deal on some delicious cheesecake and chocolate muffins, and bought some cherries that were grown in Washington, of all places. ๐Ÿ™‚ As delicious as the cherries offered in the EDR have been, they are not as sweet and plump as the cherries grown in Washington. ๐Ÿ™‚

Our packed-in-and-market-bought lunch

Our packed-in-and-market-bought lunch

We ate in the iconic antler-arches park, and our entertainment was watching little kids try drinking from the water fountain. Surreptitiously, and feeling very much like a stalker parents should protect their kids from, I took a picture of this little boy (in cowboy boots, no less!), straining for some ‘agua’.

After lunch we headed to the library. (O blissful paradise, keeper of countless treasures – more precious than any monarch’s amassed glittering gems!)

From there we cruised to a showing of Ice Age 4. Which had its funny moments buuuuttt… they should stop there. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I mean, there’s only so many times characters can be in life-peril situations before you start to yawn.

“If I don’t make it,ย find me a wifeย and tell her I love her!”

-Sid

And then home, to a nap, dinner and double-decker brownies, another movie (Beastly, which I enjoyed), and some book-reading. Yah in all a pretty relaxing, grand day. ๐Ÿ™‚ Work will start again tomorrow – but for 4 out of my 5 work days I start work at five pm!!! Me think some more hiking is in order! ๐Ÿ˜‰

What is a random fact you recently learned? Post it below. C’mon, I can’t chatter about my life to a dead-quiet crowd.

Don’t be a dead person,

Sarah

