If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

Matthew 7:11

I’ve been privileged to be a part of a weekly girls’ Bible study since returning from Ecola, and one of the things I’ve enjoyed most is being able to pray together every week, and then seeing those prayers answered! We also share stories of the crazy good things God is doing for us. I thought I would share my most recent story with you. 🙂 It’s short & sweet.

I needed to pay my dad for gas + car insurance, and I wanted to do it in cash since it would be easiest. As I drove to work yesterday I calculated in my head – how much I had made in tips last time I worked, and how much I needed that night to be able to pay my dad right then. I needed exactly $44, so as I drove I asked God if I could receive that much in tips that night.

In the couple weeks I have worked at Red Robin, I have made 20-30 dollars for an evening shift, maybe upper 30s. But so far I had never broken 40 dollars. And yesterday night business started out pretty slow, so I thought right then that I would certainly not make $44 in tips.

Four busy hours later I was ready to go home – exhausted because I had spent the morning entertaining 9 preschoolers at VBS. I collected tips from servers and as I was clocking out, counted the bills…

And yeah, I got $45 in tips. 🙂

Isn’t that crazy?? How like God to meet my silly request, and top it by one dollar. If I had gotten 60 dollars in tips, I don’t think it would have made me smile like that number 45 did. It was just so perfect – and slightly over.

When God gives me gifts like that I like to share the story. I hope it was an encouragement to you, a reminder that God is always watching over you, His treasure, and He likes to do things to make you smile.

