Psalms 131 is something I remember often.

562688_10200360049778054_63668449_n

O Lord, my heart is not lifted up;
my eyes are not raised too high;
I do not occupy myself with things
too great and too marvelous for me.
But I have calmed and quieted my soul,
like a weaned child with its mother;
like a weaned child is my soul within me.

O Israel, hope in the Lord
from this time forth and forevermore.

My mind gets busy and tangled so easily… for some reason I like to think about lofty things. The universe, humanity. Life. My mind begins to spin in circles and, trapped in its human limitation, doesn’t actually ‘figure anything out’ or even to begin to ‘comprehend’ a drop.

So often needlessly straining, my mind pushes small things into large worries, and tries to pull lofty things down to my pitiful level.

I am not sure why but when I stare over a magnificent view, I feel like I have to take it in. Understand it. When I walk through a city and look into all the faces of all the people I’m passing by, I feel like I have to ‘do something’ with those people. I am aware of my lack to fully know… appreciate.. see what I see, and so I am always scrabbling to grab hold and understand. I do not want to walk by all of those people without seeing them and yet I cannot see them all.

As humans we get so caught up in details of meaningless things. Like sheep, we rarely lift our eyes from the grass we’re devouring. Thinking of the universe is enough to make your brain shut down. Thinking of how huge and grand space is, from nebulas and star clusters, down to the amazingly fine details, like veins on a leaf or another person’s eyes.

I do not want to be wrapped up into myself. I want to take my gaze from myself and set it on the world around me. Yet I can’t take in everything and all people.

Psalms 131 reminds me… it’s okay to lower my gaze. I shouldn’t be focusing entirely on myself, but that doesn’t mean I have to run my mind ragged taking in everything else.

Turn your eyes, upon Jesus… look full on His wonderful face…

This life is simpler than we make it out to be. Our life purpose is grander than we would believe it to be.

When my mind is in turmoil over a situation or just because, and I choose to focus on Christ, I rarely find an answer. I don’t find a clear, black-and-white solution to my current problems. Instead, it’s like a Father wrapping his arms around a drained and weary child, and holding her until the child falls asleep. My worries drain away and my being relaxes. No answer, just peace.

Is your mind at peace?

