Another week has flown by like an unlaiden swallow (European, of course), and I am now about exactly halfway through my time in Europe. But from here the pace picks up just a bit! Tomorrow we will be heading to Berlin, and from there it will be a flurry of new cities, new countries.
Weve stayed in Hannover this week, with Olivia’s host family, and the days have been relatively quiet,  but full. I apologize in advance for the went-here, did-that flavor of this blog post, which I like to avoid; I’ll try to have original and interesting thoughts for next time.
Enter bullet points!

▪ On Sunday we went to Victoria’s ballet recital. She is five, so you can imagine the adorableness filling that gym as those miniature ballerinas twirled and pretended to be birds and water fountains.

▪ Afterwards the father, Hans, took us to the Neu (new) Rathaus, or city government center. And by new I mean it was built in the 1800s, to replace the 1400 A.D. Rathaus. Inside are 4 city models of Hannover over the years. It is sobering to see the difference between the 1939 and 1945 models… few buildings remained unscathed through the war.
After we had coffee and cake by the lake, ahh.

▪ On Tuesday Olivia and I went to an American cafe for dinner. It is always interesting to see how people here portray America. We split a BLT, and Olivia was in heaven because they had root beer, something near impossible to find outside of the USA. After dinner we went to a fabulous comedy/acrobatic performance thanks to a gift certificate from Olivia’s host family. We were on the top floor of a beautiful theater with BBC Sherlock Holmes-like wallpaper. The show was well done, with tight rope walkers, tap dancers, and other fabulous feats by people made of steel. I imagined myself trying to do what they were doing and it wasn’t a pretty picture…

▪ On Wednesday I chopped off my hair, which was a bit scary – I’ve never cut it so short. It is a bit odd feeling more like a boy – like one of my brothers- but it’s fabulously quick to wash. I considered dying it bright blue, too, but I think I’ll stop with this.. 😉

▪ What else? Ice cream, barbecues on the patio, walks around the city. We saw the Aegidienkirche, which is similar to Hamburg’s St Nikolai in that it is a church destroyed during the war, that the city chose to leave as-is, for a memorial. Except seeing this church made me a bit mad, because the night we visited they had a loud rock concert with beer inside, and it sounded like that was a regular occurrence. To me that seems disrespectful to the memorial for those that died in the war.

▪ Last night we celebrated Olivia’s birthday with coffee, cake, and pizza. Lots of her friends came over and it gave them a chance to say goodbye, too. Although who knows, maybe some of them will come to visit us in WA!

▪ Friday Olivia and I went to the Hamburg Historical Museum and spent an hour wandering through, until it came to closing time. On our way out we stopped to buy some soda bottles from a vending machine, only to have an employee tell us we couldn’t leave the building with them. When you buy bottled drinks here the cost has an included 25 cent charge, which you get back if you recycle the bottles. The vending machine didn’t charge that extra cost, so the museum needed the bottles back. So Olivia and I had to chug our bottles. Europe is serious about their recycling, America should take notes!
That night we met with two of Olivia’s Hannover friends and went to an Italian restaurant. They had both been through YWAM DTS and had passions for China and Israel, so it was really cool to talk to them. And one, Silas, kinda looked like my brothers combined, so that was great for my homesick side.
We walked around the city after it got dark and met two people from Taiwan, who joined us for an hour or so. One of the neat things about going to another country is that you don’t just meet people from that country, but from all over the world. I talked to them about their lives in Taiwan, and found their answers about their schooling/careers sad. They had both taken the exam that gives you career choices based on your score. They had chosen the highest possible career because, well, it was the highest. So one was studying Finance and the other, Dentistry. But neither were excited or passionate about their subjects.
Is it a selfish luxury to do something you want to do in life? Does my belief that everyone should do something they love come from a cushioned, American, 21st century worldview? I understand there are jobs that have to be done that no one wants to do, but it also seems to me like too many people settle because they are focused on financial and cultural pressures.
Speaking of which, here are two great artworks on the subject my brother sent me a few days ago:


I’ll leave you with that, because it is too gorgeous a day to spend inside typing up a blog post. I think the shaded lawn outside is calling my name.
Tschüss!

